Fatherhood

“Saturday mornings, I’ve learned, are a great opportunity for kids to sneak into your bed, fall back asleep, and kick you in the face.”  -Dan Pearce

I’m in a state of exhiliration. I am excited to become a father in a couple months. I am also scared. My wife is having twins! Another best friend of mine has twins that were born a few years ago. He kept telling me that I was going to have twins and just dismissed it. When the first ultrasound happened where we found out she was having twins, my first thought was that he won again. You see, whenever we play a game, he wins. I’ve beaten him once, but only because he was ganged-up on in a multiplayer game. So when I found out that he was right, I said “No! Oh no!” Not that I didn’t want kids but he once again beat me at the game of life.

The twins are identical. It’s completely random. Fraternal twins can run in the family, but not identical twins. Or at least there is no scientific evidence that points towards it. Only 3% of natural conceptions are twins. Ours are the most common type of identical twins: MoDi. I can’t pronounce what the medical term is, much less try to spell it. Basically it means that the kids are in seperate amniotic sacs, but the same placenta. There can be a thing called twin-to-twin transfusion. It’s where one twin can get more amniotic fluid than the other, however we’ve been fortunate that the kids don’t have this.

You probably noticed that I haven’t called the kids ‘the girls’ or ‘the boys.’ That is because we haven’t found out their sex. We have an envelope sitting on our end table with the information however we will reveal all in about a week and a half at our baby shower. I don’t really have a preference as to girls or boys. My wife is convinced it is girls as she predicted she was pregnant and that it was twins. So for her to go 3-for-3 would be great, but it’s definitely not something we are specifcally wanting. I’m just happy to be having kids!

Leave a Reply

