Cooking

I like to cook. There are these instructions that tell you what to put into a pot or pan, and a few minutes or hour later, food! I am a very picky eater, so I like to make my own food so I know what’s going into it. I’ll probably make a list later on about my dislikes. But for now here are two recipes I use.

My wife hates that I love to make spaghetti. She doesn’t like it too much. My basic recipe is this:

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp bacon fat
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 0.5 lb spicy italian sausage (or mild)
  • 1 -48oz jar of Prego Spaghetti Sauce
  • 16 oz package of pasta, prepared according to box and drain

Melt the butter and bacon fat in a large skillet. Add the celery and carrots and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes then add the onion and cook further until the onions are translucent. Add the garlic and meats. Brown the meats. Add the spaghetti sauce and mix together. Bring to simmer and simmer while you make the pasta. Mix the pasta and sauce together (or not) and enjoy!

Another recipe I like to make is a taco/burrito filling. I use it for nachos as well.

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1 lb ground meat
  • Taco Potion #19 (less 1 tsp salt)
  • 1 cup beef stock

Melt the butter in a lage skillet. Add the onion and a pinch of kosher salt and cook until translucent. Add the garlic and meat. Brown the meat. Add the Taco Potion and the beef stock and cook until the Potion thickens.

As I said, I like to cook. I like working with my hands, and cooking in particular. I try new recipes all the time-most recently a swedish meatball recipe that Clara really liked. I hope you’ll try these and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

